Nepal at Glance

About Nepal

Nepal covers an area 147,181 in which 143, is land and 4000 is water. Latitude: 26’12 and 30’north & Longitude: 80’4 and 88’12 east

Nepal is multicultural, multi-religious, multilingual and multiethnic country. As you travel you can find 123 spoken languages, 125 ethnic groups and many cultures, lifestyle in the different region. 

Nepal Currency: Rupee (NRs)

Political System: Federal Democratic Republic

Time Zone: UTC+5:45, Calling code +977, Geographically Nepal is divided into Mountain, Hills and Terai Region.

Nepal has 4 properties inscribed on the world heritage lists. 2 of which are listed in cultural sites and another 2 are listed in Natural sites.

1.Kathmandu Valley (Cultural), 2. Lumbini (Cultural), 3. Chitwan National Park (Natural), 4. Sagarmatha National Park (Natural)

 Inside the Kathmandu valley, there are other heritages sites such as:

Pashupatinath Temple, Bouddhanath Stupa, Swayambhunath Stupa, Kathmandu Durbar Square

Bhaktapur Durbar Square, Patan Durbar Square, Changu Narayan

Nepal's Unique Treasures:

Everest - Highest Peak on Earth, Kumari- The Living Goddess, Lumbini- Birthplace of the Buddha

There are 10 National Parks in Nepal. Among them 2 are listed in World Heritage Sites, they are:

Chitwan National Park (932, Sagarmatha National Park (1,148

Other National Parks are:

Banke National Park (550, Bardiya National Park (968, Khaptad National Park (225, Langtang National Park (1,710

Makalu-Barun National Park (1500, Rara National Park (106, Shey-Phoksundo National Park (3,555, Shivapuri Nagarjun National Park (159

Three Wildlife Reserves:

Koshi Tappu Wildlife Reserve (175, Parsa Wildlife Reserve (499, Shuklapanta Wildlife reserve (305

 Conservation Areas:

Annapurna Conservation Area (7,629, Api Nampa Conservation Area (1,903, Blackbuck Conservation Area (15.95, Gaurishankar Conservation Area (2,179, Kanchenjunga Conservation Area (2,035, Manaslu Conservation Area (1,663

Hunting Reserve:

Dhorpatan Hunting Reserve (1,325